The paradox of the lazy day at home

windy_harbor_Liz_flickr_edited

I don’t know about you, but a lazy day at home always sounds great to me. I love me some good friend and family time, and I love getting out into nature or the city, but a lazy day at home — that always calls to me. I picture curling up with a good book and a cup of tea, catching up on some shows, or prepping food for the week. All of which sounds incredibly tempting…

But it’s an illusion!

A tempting illusion, but an illusion all the same. Lazy days at home are almost guaranteed to make me sad. Call it cabin fever, call it a need to be busy, but I have learned over the years that I just get into a funk after an entire day at home, especially a lazy one.

From reading about positive psychology, I’ve learned that I’m not alone. We are happier when we are challenged. The trick is to seek out challenges that test us enough to keep from being bored (see lazy day at home) but not so much that we’re stressed out.

So, with all that in mind, and with a wide open Saturday fast approaching, I am setting some goals for myself, in hopes of preventing the funk:

Undertake a project

This weekend, I want to take a good, hard look at the stuff we’ve accumulated in our apartment since (or even before) our last Goodwill run. Happiness via a challenge AND minimalism 🙂

Catch up with a friend

I also want to spend time with friends, so I plan to set up a brunch date with my friend who just moved to the neighborhood.

Work on a hobby

I plan to spend part of the day working on this very blog, reading up about what I can do to improve it, and thinking about what improvements I want to make first. I might also spend some time brainstorming future post ideas. Suggestions and requests welcome!

Do something for me

I plan to join and use a gym in my neighborhood so I can take advantage of the pool and exercise bikes. At 30 weeks pregnant, I’ve had to make some major adjustments to my normal exercise regime, but I want to keep up with what I can to stay fit during this last push (pun intended!). It makes me happy knowing I’m doing something good for my body, the baby, and my sanity.


Do you enjoy lazy days at home? If not, what challenges or plans do you set for yourself? Do you have any suggestions to add to my Saturday goals? I’d love to hear.

(Photo credit: Liz, Flickr, edited by me)

7 thoughts on “The paradox of the lazy day at home

  1. My lazy days inevitably turn into “insane deep-cleaning for hours and hours” days. Haha. I’m with you- lazy days spent relaxing *sound* great, but turn out to be agitating with so much left to do around the house. Hm… come to think of it, with less stuff now I’m not sure what I’ll do with my lazy days. Might need a blog post comparing downtime Before and After! Thanks for the idea! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely understand this! It was much worse when I had no car, so a “lazy day at home” was code for “you have no other option.” Now a lazy day means I can do some blogging, make a yummy lunch, drink some tea, but I still have options. It’s about mindset too. Sometimes being alone with your thoughts is the most overwhelming part. :]

    // ▲ itsCarmen.com ▲

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Carmen, oh man, that would be rough! I’m lucky to live in a big city with a couple of bus lines that go right by me, so I never feel too stuck. But sometimes even though it sounds enjoyable at the time, I’m still in a funk by the end of the day!

      Like

    1. LeAnne, so interesting! For me, it’s not just the guilt but kind of this feeling of like “blahhh why am I wasting my life?” I LOVE me some good lazy time, but just not a whole lazy day, I think 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

