How far would you go to escape the rat race?

somewhere_in_between_Dingli_Cliffs_Malta (bass_nroll, Flickr)

It’s easy to get sucked into the rat race. There are so many external forces telling us that we should go to college, study hard, go to grad school, get a corporate job, work our way up the ladder, get promoted, make lots of money, get married, buy a house, have kids.

Where does it end? When do we get to stop and enjoy what we’ve created for ourselves?

I know I’ve felt like I’m on a train and it’s heading in the wrong direction. In my case, I switched directions in grad school, moving from a lucrative major that totally bored me to a less lucrative field that I love. It was a hard choice at the time — I had committed so much to building a life in that direction — but in the scheme of things it was not so drastic.

I’m always intrigued by people who truly and completely abandon the standard path. People who check out of the rat race and do whatever pleases them that day, that month, that year.

Would you live off the grid to get out of the rat race?

I recently watched a House Hunters episode about a family who moved off the grid to a remote island in Fiji. They had two young children including a 1 year old, and they chose to live on an island that had no electrical grid, no restaurants, no anything. On the 6 days a week that a plane didn’t fly there, it was a 24-hour boat ride to reach an island with modern conveniences like hospitals.

Their reasoning was that they were tired of the rat race. They wanted to feed their family with fish they caught themselves, to focus their energies on basic needs, and leave the rest of their time for simple pleasures.

Their choices are obviously extreme compared to what most of us have chosen. They are also missing an important facet of happiness – increasing meaning in our lives by creating something to work toward in the future. And yet their choice is so beguiling to me.

We create such busy lives for ourselves that we don’t always have time to stop and appreciate what we’re spending all of our time working so hard for. It’s hard for many of us to see, in a tangible way, how all of the time we spend working, from sitting in meetings to writing reports, is improving the world.

Happiness is our ultimate end goal. Money, attained by participating in the rat race, is simply one way to try to get at happiness. It is not useful except in its potential to help us be happier.

There are other ways.

How far would you go to escape the rat race? Would you go off the grid? Have you ever made a drastic change to get out of the rat race? Or do you participate because you think it’s more important to plan for a secure future? I’d love to hear your thoughts below.

(Photo credit: bass_nroll, Flickr)

4 thoughts on “How far would you go to escape the rat race?

  1. That family went to the extremes. I don’t think it’s necessary to move to an island and completely cut yourself off in order to escape the “rat race”. Although it sounds amazing, and it’s awesome this family was able to pull it off, I think Minimalism is a tool that many people use to escape feeling stuck on the high speed ladder of working life. Whether quitting their corporate jobs or not, it can help to slow things down, put things in perspective and allow a person more downtime. I work a 40 hour a week job, but I don’t feel like I am part of the “rat race”. I certainly do not believe that everyone needs to follow the step by step rules to the “American Dream”. I believe the dream is changing anyway, to each their own dream.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi Katie, great Blog!

    It is an interesting question you pose.

    I had a bit of a crisis last year after a beautiful relaxing family holiday in a fairly hippy town where plenty of people have gone of the grid!

    I was ready to move out of the city and into this happy hippy town. However, it really wasn’t something we could actually do.

    I started to reflect about why I wasn’t happy in my day to day life when on paper I had everything.

    As with the sentiments of your blog and previous poster I have found through minimalism and the exploration of my connection with stuff I could start to define what is really important to me and my family. As a result we live a little more simply, and definitely a lot more SLOWLY.

    I have found that I can live in this crazy consumer driven city on my own terms. I just need to pare it all back. I focus on the things I need to live the life I want and I try to be intentional about my choices.

    I do still dream of going off the grid (I am an adventurer deep down). We hope to take the kids on a long trip around Europe next year, backpacks on! However, we need to work to do this. We just ensure that the work doesn’t consume our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Fran, thanks for stopping by! I think what you’ve found for your life sounds like such a great balance to aim for. I agree, as appealing as it sounds to just completely step away from it all, I just don’t think it’s realistic nor do I feel it would necessarily make me happier. I derive happiness from my career and working toward goals of my own, and I think stepping away from all challenges and goals would make me less happy (not to mention stepping away from friends and family).

      That said, I too am an adventurer and would love to do something like this *temporarily*!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

